Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Australia Internationally

Carl Berman

Hugh McAuliffe

Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Australian basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  Other seasons     2006-2007  

WNBL Standings
1. Dandenong R. 14-7
2. Adelajde F. 14-7
3. Canberra C. 14-7
4. Bulleen B. 13-8
5. Sydney UF 13-8
6. Townsville F. 12-9
7. Perth L. 4-17
8. AIS 0-21

Canberra Capitals won WNBL
Championship 2006
NBL Stats Leaders


1. Smith (Lynx) 21.7
2. Hibbert (Boo.) 18.2
3. Whittle (Capitals) 17.0
4. Hamilton (Rang.) 16.9
5. Snell (Flames) 16.1


1. Grima (Boomers) 9.1
2. Whittle (Capitals) 9.0
3. Crouse (Fire) 9.0
4. Cox (Fire) 9.0
5. Summerton (Fel.) 9.0


1. Phillips (Fellas) 4.9
2. McInerny (Rang.) 4.0
3. Snell (Flames) 3.9
4. Screen (Fellas) 3.6
5. Hibbert (Boomers) 3.6


1. Tomlinson (AIS) 2.7


1. Bevilaqua (Cap.) 2.4

Both men and women Australia
teams won gold at Commonwealth
Games '06 in Melbourne

Canberra Capitals 2005-06






# Name CM (INCH) Pos Bo NAT


Bevilaqua Tully 170 (5'7'') G 72 AUS


Jackson Lauren 196 (6'5'') F/C 81 AUS


Whittle Jenny 197 (6'6'') C 73 AUS


Abrams Kellie 175 (5'9'') G 78 AUS


Sharp Eleanor 179 (5'11'') F 79 AUS


Beatty Tracey 202 (6'8'') C 79 AUS


Marino Angela 166 (5'6'') G 86 NZL


Hurst Natalie 163 (5'4'') G 83 AUS


Sinclair Peta 176 (5'9'') F 83 AUS


Cooper Nerrida 186 (6'1'') F/C 81 AUS


Hannett Kelly 178 (5'10'') G/F 81 AUS


Gwyther Kylie 178 (5'10'') F 80 AUS


Rowe Kate       AUS


West Bethany       AUS


West Shelley       AUS

  WNBL: Canberra is the new WNBL Champion!
The Canberra Capitals are the 2005/06 WNBL Champions after their 68-55 point win over the Dandenong Rangers in front of a sell out crowd at the Dandenong Basketball Stadium. Canberra's win ended the Rangers quest to win three straight titles, and brought the championship back to the nation's capital for the first time since 2003/04 when the Capitals went back to back.

Dandenong Rangers - Canberra Capitals: 55-68

The first quarter was as you would expect a tight affair in front of a roaring capacity crowd, with a quite a number of opposition supporters making the trip from Canberra. The Capitals jumped out to a 5-0 start with their starting five consisting of captain Elanor Sharp in her last game, Jenny Whittle, Lauren Jackson, Tully Bevilaqua and Kelli Abrams. The Rangers started with Jacinta Hamilton, Emily McInerney, Emma Randall, Carly Wilson and Sam Richards. Jacinta Hamilton matched up on Lauren Jackson early in a bit of a surprise in a low scoring 1st quarter. The defences were on top, with both teams shooting below 50% from the field. Match up for match up, this was a hard physical contest. The 2nd quarter saw the Capitals open the floodgates, outscoring Dandenong 21-9, with Jackson the difference with Thirteen points, It forced Gary Fox to make the switch mid way through the quarter, placing Emily McInerney on her. Canberra's six point lead 20-14 stretched to a ten point lead 27-17, to eleven points 34-23 and by the end of the end of the quarter the margin was 14 points, and maybe game over in a very defensive contest. It was going to be a monumental effort for the Rangers to climb off the floor to capture their 3rd straight title. There must have been some strong words of motivation by Gary Fox at half time, because the Rangers tempo lifted, knowing this was the time they had to make their mark. With a parochial home crowd behind them, Dandenong went on a 11-2 scoring spree to bring the margin back to 39-34, but it was the Capitals who were able to steady the ship in the last five minutes to lead 46-38 going into the last quarter of the season, despite Lauren Jackson being kept scoreless for the quarter. The final quarter saw the Rangers make another charge, with regular three point shooter Caitlin Ryan (187-G-81) stepping up with 10 points, but the margin was to much to ware down. The Capitals held their noses in front as they had all day with Jackson, Whittle and Abrams able to score important baskets and seal the win.
After a very disappointing 2004/05, this result is a great reward for Canberra, who before Christmas didn't have the regular services of Jackson due to injury. The star Opal claimed her 5th WNBL crown and was named MVP for the finals series. For the Rangers they have been the yardstick the last two years. They had a chance to join the record books with a three peat, but the power, talls and class of the Capitals gave them the edge.

Dandenong Rangers: 55
Caitlin Ryan 17pts 7/13FG 2ast 24min
Carly Wilson 17pts 7/14FG 2ast 33min
Samantha Richards 8pts 4/10FG 4rbs 26min
Emma Randall 5pts 2/8FG 3rbs 19min
Jacinta Hamilton 4pts 2/7FG 11rbs 2bs 33min
Kathleen Macleod 2pts 1/3FG 20min
Alison Downie 2pts 1/4FG 9min
Emily McInerny 0pts 0/3FG 4rbs 31min
Jenna O'Hea 0pts 0/2FG 1rbs 4min
Jessica Bibby DNP
Canberra Capitals: 68
Lauren Jackson 24pts 11/18FG 11rbs 2bs 34min
Kellie Abrams 14pts 6/14FG 5rbs 5ast 39min
Jenny Whittle 12pts 5/11FG 9rbs 36min
Eleanor Sharp 11pts 5/9FG 6ast 37min
Tully Bevilaqua 4pts 2/5FG 5rbs 6ast 37min
Angela Marino 3pts 1/1FG 5min
Tracey Beatty 0pts 0/1FG 5rbs 11min
Natalie Hurst 0pts 1min
Nerrida Cooper DNP
Kylie Gwyther DNP

  2005-2006 Season Awards
Katrina Hibbert (180-G/F-77, college: LSU) Bulleen
All-WNBL First Team:
Deanna Smith (180-G/F-81) Perth
Jacinta Hamilton (187-F/C-82) Dandenong
Erin Phillips (173-G-85) Adelaide
Jenny Whittle (197-C-73) Canberra
Katrina Hibbert (180-G/F-77, college: LSU) Bullee
Rookie of the Year:
Abby Bishop (189-C-88) AIS
Defensive Player of the Year:
Emily McInerny (184-F-78) Dandenong Rangers
Coach of the Year:
Gary Fox Dandenong Rangers

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2018 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.