Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Micronesia Internationally
Not Available
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Micronesian basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
 1. Silencer 8-2 
 2. Black Mamba 7-2 
 3. Tropang Ridhors 7-4 
 4. Batang BB 6-3 
 5. White House 6-4 
 6. Spigen 5-5 
 7. Green Minded 5-6 
 8. Team Sawi 4-5 
 9. Gold Ballers 4-6 
 10. Vendetta 4-6 
 11. Green Archers 1-10 

CNMI: Nominees briefed at first MIBT tryout - Jan 7, 2004

E-mail Greg:
Greg's Articles 
| Follow Greg on  Facebook Twitter

With the popular 27th Marianas Invitational Basketball Tournament nearing, head coach Rufino Aguon began the process of selecting the 12-man roster that will make up the Saipan All-Stars team, holding the first tryout session last Tuesday evening at the Northern Marianas College Gymnasium.
The tryout, which was by invitation only, was pretty calm compared to Aguon's normal routine. The young players were briefed with what was expected of them during the course of the next three weeks.
"The invitation was the first selection process," said Aguon. "We invited 18 players, but are looking for only 12 to fill the roster, so not all will be able to make the team. The roster will be released on January 29, but I hope that those who don't make it won't get discouraged."
Aguon clarified all the rules that must be abided by in order to make the cut, and among those were maintaining a C average in school, no smoking, and no alcohol consumption.
"The competition is going to be tough," he said. "With that, we know that we're going to need players who have the mentality to take on challenges. Showing me that you can go to school, get good grades, and still train proves that you can handle the mental aspect of the tournament."
"It doesn't have to be here [NMC Gym], but if any of us [coaching staff] see anyone of you guys smoking, you're out.if any of us see one of you guys drinking, you're out. The law doesn't permit you to do those kind of things."
Aguon, who led Team Saipan to the championship in 2002 and a second place finish in 2001, stressed that statistics-scoring-from previous leagues where the players competed in won't have an effect on the selection.
"As you can see, not all players here are scorers," he said. "We have players who specialize in defense, in rebounding, and players who go in and do what they're told to do. In order for us to be successful, we're going to need all the players to focus as a team. A player can be a good scorer, but if he learns to work well with his teammates, maybe he can score more points or contribute in another way that will be positive for the team."
Spearheading the list are MIBT veterans Danardo Barcinas, Leroy Kani, Oscar Ada, and Mel Manibusan, all who were part of Saipan's championship run two years ago.
Also making the list is veteran guard Paul Magcalas, speedster Ben Jones, Julian Ranas, A.J. Mettao, Pete Iguel, scoring machine Josh Sablan, forwards Derrick Omengabar and Jeremy Winkfield, Rowell Aranda, outside sniper Brian Flores, Jesse Garcia, Tyrone Fitial, Alison Kaipat, and Joe Acosta.
For their part, Barcinas, Kani, Ada, Manibusan, and Winkfield were also members of the CNMI All-Stars team that competed in the 22-and-under Micronesia Basketball Tournament in Palau last November.
"Those guys are very young and got to experience playing at a level far higher than the level of play that is witnessed at the MIBT," said Aguon. "So hopefully their leadership and experience will rub off on the newcomers."
Flores, Aranda, Kaipat, Mettao, and Ranas were also part of the Saipan Southern High School Manta Rays that won the 2003 MISA High School Basketball League champion-ship last month.
Aguon's coaching staff also comprises of assistant coach Lawrence Rosario and trainer Gabriel White.
Aguon also added that all players eligible to play in the tournament must not turn 19 years of age by April 1, 2004 and must be enrolled in school or have graduated.
The tournament will be played sometime in March at Tinian.

Basketball team final roster out - 7 months ago
Many-time national coach Elias Rangamar yesterday released the 12-man roster for the CNMI men's national basketball team that will be competing in the 9th Micronesian Games in Yap. The squad will be led by Danandro Barcinas, Preston Basa, Jack Lizama, and Douglas Schmidt Jr., who also represented the Commonwealth in last year's Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu. Dean Blake, Coby Santos, Jeff Deleon Guerrero, Marvin Rabauliman, Aiferson Atan, Geno Libuw, N-Nes Siech, and Christian Mizer are th...   [read more]
Streaking Ol'Aces rout BSI - 7 months ago
The Ol'Aces' scoring surge continued, as they pounded BSI, 100-70, during the men's division game in 2018 MIBF Island-wide Basketball League last Wednesday night at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium. With another easy win, the Ol'Aces kept their perfect record (3-0) in the eight-team field, while BSI dropped to an even 1-1 slate after prevailing in its season debut against the Genesis All-Stars   [read more]
Basketball leagues meeting Friday - 9 months ago
Organizers of the Francisco M. Diaz Memorial Youth League and the 2018 Men's and Women's Island-wide Premier Basketball League are calling all coaches to attend tomorrow's meeting at 5:30pm at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium conference room. The meeting will discuss the opening of both leagues and other important issues. The FMD Memorial Youth League is for Under 15 and U18 boys, while the IPBL is an open division. The leagues have attracted a combined 31 teams. Eight teams have signed up fo...   [read more]

1 | 2 | 3
1 | 2 | 3

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2018 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.