Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:   Facebook   Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Become A Member
Men Women
Micronesia Internationally
Not Available
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Micronesian basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
 1. Silencer 8-2 
 2. Black Mamba 7-2 
 3. Tropang Ridhors 7-4 
 4. Batang BB 6-3 
 5. White House 6-4 
 6. Spigen 5-5 
 7. Green Minded 5-6 
 8. Team Sawi 4-5 
 9. Gold Ballers 4-6 
 10. Vendetta 4-6 
 11. Green Archers 1-10 

BANMI Budweiser Cup kicks off - Feb 15, 2004

E-mail Greg:
Greg's Articles 
| Follow Greg on  Facebook Twitter

Defending champion Toyota-Ol'Aces and Diablo shook off their collective rust from months of inactivity just in time to draw first blood in the opening night of the 2004 BANMI Budweiser Cup last Monday at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

In the first game, Ol'Aces let their guard down in the third quarter before blowing Lebwel off the floor in the fourth and final quarter to win the game going away, 96-68.
The defending champions started like a house on fire and spotted Lebwel by 13 points, 25-12, as sweet-shooting forward Peter Camacho fired 10 points in the first quarter.
Ol'Aces continued to hum in the second quarter. Dominating the boards and picking off the passing lanes, the team padded its lead to as much as 18 points before Lebwel closed the gap in the final minutes of the half and found themselves trailing again by just a baker's dozen, 32-45.
Lebwel's Ryan Camacho then led a spirited rally in the third quarter. The 6'0" center knocked down jumpers and drove in like there was no tomorrow against the taller and heftier Ol'Aces frontline.
As a result, Lebwel was able to trim the proud Ol'Aces team's lead to just nine points going into the last 10 minutes of the contest.
But as quickly as someone could say the word "comeback," Ol'Aces players strapped on the afterburners in the fourth period and proceeded to leave Lebwel biting the dust.
Tinian resident and former National player John Santos led the assault in the final canto, unloading 10 of his 21 points. Fellow national team veteran Edsel Mendoza was equally lethal in the quarter, pouring in 9 points.
Peter Camacho went on to pace Ol'Aces with 21 points. Santos, Mendoza, and Gabriel White also finished in double figures for the team.
Ryan Camacho topscored for Lebwel with 17 points and Taula Peter and Ben Peliseman added 11 points apiece.

Toyota-Ol'Aces 96 - P. Camacho 23, Santos 21, Mendoza 11, White 11, Renguul 6, A. Camacho 6, Iginoef 4, Tagabuel 4, Rangamar 4, Celes 3, Pua 2, Saralu 2.
Lebwel 68 - Camacho 17, Peter 11, B. Peliseman 11, R, Peliseman 10, Limes 9, Pua 5, Joab 2.
Scoring by quarters: 25-12, 45-32, 67-58, 96-68.

In the second game, Diablo leaned on scorer Dave Sablan to upend a scrappy but inexperienced Ol'Aces II, 68-54.
Both teams started poorly with Ol'Aces II taking the first quarter 9-6. It was the first time in Budweiser Cup history that two teams failed to reach double figures after the opening quarter.
But Sablan would make sure Diablo won't go down that route again in the next period, unloading 12 of his game-high 25 points in the second quarter to help his team erect a 28-22 halftime advantage.
Diablo would stretch the lead to 13 points, 45-32, after the third period before finally slamming the door on Ol'Aces in the fourth quarter.
Steve Rasa and George Masga tallied 10 points apiece for Diablo, while B.J. Tagabuel and Dave Palacios led Ol'Aces with 13 and 10 points, respectively.

Diablo 68 - D. Sablan 25, S. Rasa 10, Masga 10, J. Sablan 8, Acosta 5, P. Rasa 4, Wesley 3, Camacho 3.
Ol'Aces II 54 - Tagabuel 13, Palacios 10, Dillay 8, Odoshi 7, Lee 6, Ogumoro 6, Taisacan 4.
Scoring by quarters: 6-9, 28-22, 45-32, 68-54.




Basketball team final roster out - 1 Year ago
Many-time national coach Elias Rangamar yesterday released the 12-man roster for the CNMI men's national basketball team that will be competing in the 9th Micronesian Games in Yap. The squad will be led by Danandro Barcinas, Preston Basa, Jack Lizama, and Douglas Schmidt Jr., who also represented the Commonwealth in last year's Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu. Dean Blake, Coby Santos, Jeff Deleon Guerrero, Marvin Rabauliman, Aiferson Atan, Geno Libuw, N-Nes Siech, and Christian Mizer are th...   [read more]
Streaking Ol'Aces rout BSI - 1 Year ago
The Ol'Aces' scoring surge continued, as they pounded BSI, 100-70, during the men's division game in 2018 MIBF Island-wide Basketball League last Wednesday night at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium. With another easy win, the Ol'Aces kept their perfect record (3-0) in the eight-team field, while BSI dropped to an even 1-1 slate after prevailing in its season debut against the Genesis All-Stars   [read more]
Basketball leagues meeting Friday - 1 Year ago
Organizers of the Francisco M. Diaz Memorial Youth League and the 2018 Men's and Women's Island-wide Premier Basketball League are calling all coaches to attend tomorrow's meeting at 5:30pm at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium conference room. The meeting will discuss the opening of both leagues and other important issues. The FMD Memorial Youth League is for Under 15 and U18 boys, while the IPBL is an open division. The leagues have attracted a combined 31 teams. Eight teams have signed up fo...   [read more]

1 | 2 | 3
1 | 2 | 3

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2019 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.