Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:   Facebook   Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Become A Member
Men Women
Micronesia Internationally
Not Available
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Micronesian basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
 1. Silencer 8-2 
 2. Black Mamba 7-2 
 3. Tropang Ridhors 7-4 
 4. Batang BB 6-3 
 5. White House 6-4 
 6. Spigen 5-5 
 7. Green Minded 5-6 
 8. Team Sawi 4-5 
 9. Gold Ballers 4-6 
 10. Vendetta 4-6 
 11. Green Archers 1-10 

Brothers burst Ol'Aces I's bubble - Apr 15, 2004

E-mail Greg:
Greg's Articles 
| Follow Greg on  Facebook Twitter

APC Brothers got the better of archrival Toyota Ol'Aces I in what could be a preview of the 2004 BANMI Budweiser Cup championship Wednesday night .

Brothers (13-1) survived the ouster of a key player in the first half and then beat Ol'Aces I (12-1) in its own physical brand of play in the second, to record a 98-93 win in front of over 200 screaming fans at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

Down 73-65 at the end of three quarters, veterans Rick Alegre and Tony Diaz ignited Brothers' fastbreak attack that chopped the lead to more manageable proportions at the start of the fourth.

And as if the Brothers' blitzkrieg wasn't enough, Ol'Aces I also had trouble bringing down the ball and fell into a myriad of turnovers, as Brothers tightened things up on defense.

It was an 82-81 ballgame after Diaz made one of two free throws with 4:10 to go in the ballgame. And after yet another misstep by Ol'Aces I, Alegre gave Brothers its first taste of the lead, 83-82, with a gutsy drive.

Shocked by the sudden change of events, Ol'Aces I players telegraphed their passes, hurried their shots and seemed unaware there still was plenty of time left in the ballgame.

Brothers were more than happy to capitalize and when Alegre once again found Diaz inside for another deuce, Brothers were now ahead by 5 points, 90-85, time down to 2:17.

After a free throw by Ol'Aces I swingman Gabriel White made it 90-86, Brothers skyscraper 6'4" Oscar Ada drove the final nail on the coffin, converting on a tough three-point play off Elias Rangamar for a 93-86 advantage with 1:28 to go.

Diaz's brother, do-everything forward Ed Diaz, then gave Brothers its biggest lead of the game, 96-86, moments later when he soared for a one-handed layup and hit the bonus free throw.

The celebrations started as soon as Ed swooshed the charity and it reached its high point at the final buzzer when Tony made a standing summersault.

The festive scene was the complete opposite of what transpired in the first half, when Brothers were down early and lost top scorer Freddie Peliseman on account of two straight technical fouls.

But the ouster of their top gun appeared to motivate Brothers even more and they began the second half the more aggressive and hungrier team. The win avenged Brothers' 93-102 defeat to the same team earlier in the eliminations.

Ed Diaz led all scorers with 30 points. Tony Diaz also added 20 and center Sivas Awes chipped in 18 for Brothers.

Forward Peter Camacho was the highpoint man for Ol'Aces with 29 points. John Santos and Junior Renguul added 22 and 14 points, respectively.

In the curtain raiser, Diablo won an abbreviated match against Sun Devils, 74-59, when officials halted the game.

The ballgame was stopped with two minutes left following a slew of falls due to the slipperiness of the hard court.

Dave Sablan bounced back from a season-low in points to fire 32 to pace Diablos. Eric Weimen-Ouimette was the top scorer for Sun Devils with 21 markers.

First Game

Diablo 74 - Sablan 32, Masga 15, Villanueva 9, S. Rasa 6, Aguon 4, P. Rasa 4, Aaron 4.

Sun Devils 59 - Weiman 21, Lashley 15, Burline 10, Stephens 9, Andrew 4.

Scoring by quarters: 20-10, 39-30, 56-47, 74-59.

Second Game

Brothers 98 - E. Diaz 30, Ton. Diaz 20, Awes 18, Ada 10, Peliseman 9, Alegre 7, Manibusan 2, J. Diaz 2.

Ol'Aces I 93 - P. Camacho 29, Santos 22, Renguuel 14, White 7, Iginoef 6, A. Camacho 5, Mendoza 5, Rangamar 3, Celes 2. Ogumoro 1.

Scoring by quarters: 20-26, 46-50, 65-73, 98-93.  

Basketball team final roster out - 1 Year ago
Many-time national coach Elias Rangamar yesterday released the 12-man roster for the CNMI men's national basketball team that will be competing in the 9th Micronesian Games in Yap. The squad will be led by Danandro Barcinas, Preston Basa, Jack Lizama, and Douglas Schmidt Jr., who also represented the Commonwealth in last year's Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu. Dean Blake, Coby Santos, Jeff Deleon Guerrero, Marvin Rabauliman, Aiferson Atan, Geno Libuw, N-Nes Siech, and Christian Mizer are th...   [read more]
Streaking Ol'Aces rout BSI - 1 Year ago
The Ol'Aces' scoring surge continued, as they pounded BSI, 100-70, during the men's division game in 2018 MIBF Island-wide Basketball League last Wednesday night at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium. With another easy win, the Ol'Aces kept their perfect record (3-0) in the eight-team field, while BSI dropped to an even 1-1 slate after prevailing in its season debut against the Genesis All-Stars   [read more]
Basketball leagues meeting Friday - 1 Year ago
Organizers of the Francisco M. Diaz Memorial Youth League and the 2018 Men's and Women's Island-wide Premier Basketball League are calling all coaches to attend tomorrow's meeting at 5:30pm at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium conference room. The meeting will discuss the opening of both leagues and other important issues. The FMD Memorial Youth League is for Under 15 and U18 boys, while the IPBL is an open division. The leagues have attracted a combined 31 teams. Eight teams have signed up fo...   [read more]

1 | 2 | 3
1 | 2 | 3

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2019 Sports I.T. Solutions Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.